And The 2017 Awards Winners Are …

March 22, 2018

ETF Law Firm of the Year: Dechert LLP

Awarded annually to the law firm that has done the most to push the ETF industry forward, including driving new and innovative products through the Securities and Exchange Commission, advocating for the industry and the rights of investors, and improving outcomes for investors.

Dechert LLP split the award for ETF law firm of the year for 2016 with another firm, but this year it’s truly second to none. The firm’s financial services group has more than 30 ETF lawyers serving more than 20 ETF sponsors, and at a broader level, the firm focuses on financial services and corporate law in general, serving 18 out of 20 of the world’s top global asset managers. The firm, which has been involved in the ETF industry since 2005 and has 28 offices located across the globe, works closely with clients throughout the process of developing and launching an ETF. The firm stands out for its depth of practical expertise with regard to regulatory issues and for the depth of its practice.

  • Chapman and Cutler
  • K&L Gates
  • Ropes & Gray
  • Stradley Ronon


ETF Investor of the Year: CLS Investments

Awarded to a financial advisor, advisor team or institutional investor that is using ETFs to deliver high-quality portfolios in an innovative way.

The ETF Investor of the Year award is a new one designed to go to the financial advisor, advisor team or institutional investor using ETFs to deliver high-quality portfolios in an innovative way. For that reason, ETF strategist CLS has been selected as the first winner. The Omaha firm’s “Risk Budgeting Methodology” drives its investment approach, and is based on the importance of accepting a certain level of risk; of measuring risk; and of combining risk management with asset allocation. It’s an approach that focuses on accumulation, income, protection and tax management—all areas uniquely suitable for an ETF-based portfolio.

Finalists included:

  • ClearRock Capital
  • FIS Group
  • Heck Capital Advisors
  • Ritholtz Wealth Management


ETF Ticker of the Year: Point Bridge GOP Stock Tracker ETF (MAGA)

Awarded to the ETF with the best new ETF ticker. The ETF must have launched in 2017 to qualify.

No matter your political persuasion, you have to admit that Donald Trump’s campaign slogan, “Make America Great Again” (MAGA for short) rolled right off the tongue, encapsulated a powerful message and resonated with millions of people. The slogan was plastered on countless red hats and may have played a large part in Trump’s surprising election win in November 2016. The fund’s objective is purely political, but in its five months on the market, MAGA has attracted $40 million from investors who want to show solidarity with the Republican party.

Finalists included:

  • ProSports Sponsors ETF (FANZ)
  • Republican Policies Fund/Democratic Policies Fund (GOP/DEMS)
  • Global X U.S. Infrastructure Development ETF (PAVE)
  • Cambria Tail Risk ETF (TAIL)


2017 People’s Choice Award: USCF SummerHaven SHPEI Index Fund (BUY)

The winner of the People’s Choices Award was selected at the 2018 Inside ETFs conference in Hollywood, Florida.

BUY, the winner of multiple other awards this year, no doubt struck a chord with investors due to the unique exposure it offers. In targeting companies that fit the profile of corporations purchased by private equity firms, it offered a creative way to get exposure to an asset class usually not accessible for the average investor. And it does so at the relatively low price of 95 basis points. 

Finalists included:

  • Davis Select Worldwide ETF (DWLD)
  • Goldman Sachs Access Investment Grade Corporate Bond ETF (GIGB)
  • iShares Core MSCI International Developed Markets ETF (IDEV)
  • iShares Edge Investment Grade Enhanced Bond ETF (IGEB)
  • VanEck Vectors  NDR CMG Long/Flat Allocation ETF (LFEQ)
  • Vanguard Total Corporate Bond ETF (VTC)


Find your next ETF

Reset All