And The Award Winners Are …

March 16, 2016

Best ETF Advisor: Oakeson Steiner Wealth & Retirement

Awarded to an individual financial advisor or advisor team that is using ETFs to deliver high-quality portfolios to clients in an innovative way. This year’s winner is Oakeson Steiner Wealth & Retirement.

The firm, headquartered in Hastings, Nebraska, has been increasingly using ETFs to manage some $650 million in assets. Known for its one-on-one focus on clients, Oakeson Steiner has found that combining ETFs with customized tactical overlays is a winning recipe for lowering costs and delivering results.

Finalists included:

· Chudom Hayes Wealth Management – Morgan Stanley, Oak Brook, IL

· Efficient Market Advisors

· Miracle Mile Advisors

· Nottingham Advisors

Best Institutional ETF User: Employees Retirement System of Texas

Awarded to an institutional investor that is using ETFs to deliver high-quality portfolios in an innovative way. This year’s winner is the Employees Retirement System of Texas.

ERST has been a vocal and significant adopter of ETFs, particularly fixed-income ETFs. The firm showed how the liquidity that ETFs offer allowed it to efficiently migrate capital to adjust for a changing fixed-income environment.

Finalists included:

· Arizona State Retirement System

· Lazard Asset Management

· State of New Jersey Common Pension Fund


Best New ETF Ticker: CRAK

Awarded to the ETF with the best new ETF ticker. The ETF must have launched in 2015 to qualify.

The winner is CRAK—the Market Vectors Oil Refiners ETF. It’s a clever moniker that clearly explains what the exposure is all about.

Finalists included:

· BITE: The Restaurant ETF

· GUSH/DRIP: Direxion Daily S&P Oil & Gas Exp. & Prod. Bull 3X and Bear 3X ETF

· IPAY: PureFunds ISE Mobile Payments ETF

· JETS: U.S. Global Jets ETF

Methodology Award winners were selected in a three-part process designed to leverage the insights and opinions of leaders throughout the ETF industry.

Step 1

The awards process began with an open nominations process, which started Dec. 1 and closed Dec. 31. Interested parties were invited to submit nominations. Self-nominations were accepted.

Step 2

Following the open nominations process, the Awards Nominating Committee—made up of senior leaders at and senior members of the FactSet ETF team (whose data powers the website)—voted to select up to five finalists in each category. Votes were cast on a majority basis, and ties broken, where possible, with head-to-head runoff votes. If ties could not be broken, more than five finalists were allowed. The nomination voting was completed on Jan. 11, 2016.

Members of the 2015 Awards Nominating Committee:

Matt Hougan, CEO, (Chair)

Paul Britt, Senior Analyst, FactSet

Dave Nadig, Director, ETFs, FactSet

Drew Voros, Editor-in-Chief,

Step 3

Winners among these finalists were selected by a majority vote of the Awards Selection Committee, a group of independent ETF experts from throughout the ETF community. Committee members recused themselves from voting in any category in which they or their firms appeared as finalists. Ties were decided, where possible, with head-to-head runoff votes. Awards Selection Committee Members:

Kim Arthur, Founding Partner, Main Management

Benjamin Blaisdell, Managing Director & Investment Solutions Executive, US Trust

Rob Glownia, Fixed Income Analyst, RiverFront Investment Group

Phil Mackintosh, Managing Director, KCG

Tyler Mordy, President & Chief Investment Officer, Forstrong Global Asset Management

Jason Nicastro, Senior Research Analyst, LPL Financial

Jim Wiandt, Founder,

Voting was completed by Jan. 18, and the results were kept secret until tonight's Awards Dinner.

Contact Cinthia Murphy at [email protected].

Find your next ETF

Reset All