Nominations Open For 2018 Awards

December 03, 2018

2018 has been a tumultuous year for markets, with major upheavals in the U.S. and abroad. The ETF industry plows ahead, however, having pulled in over $220 billion. Innovation is also alive and well, with some 250 new products sitting on the shelves. The ongoing fee war continues to shake things up among issuers, and the importance of “bring your own assets” and distribution prowess have never been more important.

In an effort to recognize the people, companies and products moving this industry forward, and Inside ETFs are teaming up once again to organize the annual Awards. These editorially independent awards are the most coveted in the industry, and are widely seen as the most robust recognition of innovative success.

Nominations for the awards are now being accepted by clicking here. Details on how to submit nominations—as well as the categories, process and voting methodology for the awards—are listed below. The nominations open today, Dec. 32018, and close Thursday, Jan. 3, 2019.

Winners in each category will be announced at the Awards Dinner, taking place March 28, 2019, at Chelsea Piers, Pier 61, in New York. Winners will also be announced on the website on March 29, 2018, and in the April 2019 issue of ETF Report.

Methodology Award winners are selected in a three-part process designed to leverage the insights and opinions of leaders throughout the ETF industry.


Step 1

The awards process begins with open nominations, which starts Dec. 3, 2018, and closes Jan. 3, 2019. Interested parties are invited to submit nominations using this survey form. Self-nominations are accepted. You cannot win if you are not nominated, and no nominations will be accepted after the deadline. There are no exceptions to this rule. If you have any difficulties in nominating, please email Stacey Brorup at [email protected].


Step 2

Following the open nominations process, the Awards Nominating committee—made up of senior leaders at, Inside ETFs and the FactSet ETF team (whose data powers the website and fund reports)—will vote to select up to five finalists in each category. Votes will be cast on a majority basis, and ties broken where possible with head-to-head runoff votes. If ties cannot be broken, more than five finalists are allowed. The nomination voting will be completed by Jan. 14, 2019.

2018 Nominating Committee

Matt Hougan, Chairman, Inside ETFs (Chair)

Paul Britt, Senior Analyst, FactSet

Elisabeth Kashner, Director of ETF Research, FactSet

Dave Nadig, Managing Director,

Drew Voros, Editor-in-Chief,


Step 3

Winners among these finalists will be selected by a majority vote of the Awards Selection committee, a group of independent ETF experts from throughout the ETF community. Committee members will recuse themselves from voting in any category in which they or their firms appear as finalists. Ties will be decided where possible with head-to-head runoff votes.

2018 Awards Selection Committee

Kim Arthur, Main Management

Eric Balchunas, Bloomberg Intelligence

Ben Blaisdell, US Trust

Rob Glownia, RiverFront

Tom Lydon,

Phil Mackintosh, NASDAQ

Tyler Mordy, Forstrong Global Asset Management

Todd Rosenbluth, CFRA

Jim Wiandt, Industry Expert

Voting will be complete by Jan. 3, 2019, but results will be kept secret until they are announced at the Awards Dinner on March 28, 2019.

Find your next ETF

Reset All